PREVIEW: CNN INTERNATIONAL PROGRAMME INFORMATION WEEKS 43 & 44

CNN Ones to Watch

‘CNN Ones to Watch’ looks at the rising stars of electronic dance music>

>
‘CNN Ones to Watch’ looks at the rising stars of electronic dance music
 > >

Friday 7 November at 1030 GMT/ 1130 CET and 1630 GMT/1730 CET

>

Saturday 8 November at 1430 GMT/ 1530 CET and 2030 GMT/ 2130 CET

>

Monday 10 November at 0430 GMT/0530 CET and 0930 GMT/ 1030 CET

>

Tuesday 11 November at 1030 GMT/ 1130 CET and 1730 GMT/1830 CET

>

Duration: 30 minutes

‘CNN’s Ones to Watch’ – CNN International’s new series which shines a light on up-and-coming creative talent set to be the next big names in culture and the arts – continues in November, and is dedicated to electronic dance music (EDM). This is the world’s fastest-growing musical genre, worth over six billion dollars a year.

Dutch DJ Armin van Buuren, voted the world’s number one DJ a record five times, is the show’s ‘master’ this month, who chooses two artists tipped for the top in EDM.

Van Buuren’s first choice hails from an unremarkable town in one of Eastern Europe’s poorest countries, Moldova, where Andrew Rayel works in his studio ahead of a performance in Ibiza. Here he will be the opening act for van Buuren at the Ushuaia club.  While van Buuren takes a quick private jet trip to the island, Andrew’s journey begins in the darkness 24 hours earlier, flying economy class from Moldova, with multiple stops and lay-overs en-route.  If the gig is a success, he’ll have renewed confidence to face the crowd at the most important performance of his career – at the dance world’s favourite festival, Tomorrowland in Belgium, attended by 400,000 fans.

12,000 kilometres away in Buenos Aires, two young Argentinian DJs are preparing to unleash their first album to a live audience during an all-night gig. Augustin and Matias formed Heatbeat after hearing each other’s tracks uploaded to a dance music website. Van Buuren spotted their creativity and unique sound – he says he could tell a Heatbeat track from a million others – which makes them an easy choice for ‘CNN Ones to Watch’.

From trendy night clubs in Ibiza, to dance festivals in Belgium, ‘CNN Ones to Watch’ also finds time to speak to giants of the EDM scene, David Guetta and Steve Aoki, who reveal what they believe makes a great DJ.

 

>cnn.com/ones-to-watch >#CNN1s2watch >@arminvanbuuren >@steveaoki >@davidguetta >@Andrew_Rayel >@heatbeatmusic >@tomorrowland

 

 

CNN Business Traveller

Richard Quest travels to Kiev, Ukraine, to take a look at the difficulties of working and travelling in a crisis zone. (Credit: Getty images)>

Richard Quest travels to Kiev, Ukraine, to take a look at the difficulties of working and travelling in a crisis zone.

 > >

Thursday 13 November at 0930 GMT/1030 CET

>

Friday 14 November at 0630 GMT/0730 CET

>

Saturday 15 November at 0530 GMT/0630 CET and 1630 BST/1730 CET

>

Sunday 16 November at 1130 GMT/1230 CET

>

Duration: 30 minutes

For the business traveler, getting in, getting out and getting home safely is part of the job. This month’s ‘CNN Business Traveller’ looks at precautionary measures to take while travelling to dangerous zones – and the services willing to operate in them.

The programme starts in the trenches of survival training, learning defense techniques to use in threatening situations. Host Richard Quest meets with a doctor who preps viewers on pre-travel health and safety measures before departing to Kiev, Ukraine, where he explores the difficulty of living, working and travelling in a country affected by conflict.

The show also spends a day with personal security detail to see how they protect VIPs, and finish the trip off with a ride in one of the most armored vehicles on the planet.

 

>

cnn.com/business.traveller

>

@richardquest

 

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

>
Addison and Cassidy Hempel (Credit: addiandcassi.com)>
Addison and Cassidy Hempel (Credit: addiandcassi.com)
 > >

Wednesday 19 November at 1030 GMT/ 1130 CET and 1730 GMT/ 1830 CET

>

Saturday 22 November at 0530 GMT/ 0630 CET and 1930 GMT/ 2030 CET

>

Sunday 23 November at 1330 GMT/ 1430 CET

>

Saturday 29 November at 1330 GMT/ 1430 CET

>

Sunday 30 November at 0530 GMT/ 0630 CET and 1930 GMT/ 2030 CET

>

Duration: 30 minutes

 >

This month, ‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ takes a look at a genetic disease which affects only 500 people worldwide. Addison and Cassidy Hempel were three years old when their parents realised they were slipping away. Up to then, parents Hugh and Chris had been living a charmed life. Their plans were derailed when Addi and Cassi were diagnosed with a condition known as Niemann-Pick Type C, sometimes referred to as Childhood Alzheimer’s, for the tangled plaques it leaves in the brain.

The prognosis: death, probably before the girls would become teenagers. The Hempels knew there was research underway to find a cure, but they also knew it would take decades – time their girls didn’t have. What the Hempels did next is astounding. Working virtually on their own, they badgered drug companies, obscure journal publishers, hospitals, government bureaucrats, Fortune 500 Executives and Nobel Prize winners until they had a potential treatment. In the end, they did what big drug companies take decades to do: they found a promising new medicine to help their girls.

The Hempels’ crusade inspired families and doctors around the world to test their discovery and sparked the first-ever FDA trial of a drug to treat NPC. Addi and Cassi have likely suffered permanent damage, but they’ve defied the odds to survive and their condition has actually improved.

Dr. Gupta has followed the Hempels’ journey for more than four years. In ‘Vital Signs’ he takes viewers on a tour of the world of rare diseases and cutting-edge research.

 

>

cnn.com/vital-signs

>

@drsanjaygupta

 >

Open Court

>
‘Open Court’ takes a look at this year’s ATP World Tour Finals. Here, last year’s finalists Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal show off their trophies. (Credit: Getty Images)>
‘Open Court’ takes a look at this year’s ATP World Tour Finals. Here, last year’s winner Novak Djokovic and runner-up Rafael Nadal show off their trophies. (Credit: Getty Images)
 > >

Thursday 20 November at 1030 GMT/ 1130 CET and 1730 GMT/ 1830 CET

>

Saturday 22 November at 0730 GMT/ 0830 CET and 2230 GMT/ 2330 CET

>

Sunday 23 November at 1730 GMT/ 1830 CET

>

Saturday 29 November at 1730 GMT/ 1830 CET

>

Sunday 30 November at 0730 GMT/ 0830 CET and 2230 GMT/ 2330 CET

>

Duration: 30 minutes

‘Open Court’ in November has a backstage pass to the ATP World Tour Finals at the O2 Arena in London, the final tennis event on the calendar where only the top eight men’s singles players and top eight doubles teams are invited.

The show profiles some of the best players in the world, including Croatian Marin Cilic, the newest grand slam champion, to see how he is enjoying his elite status.

The programme also spends time with the top doubles teams in the world to see how well they really know each other, plus meets Chris Kermode, the ATP Executive Chairman and President. Kermode started his new role in January 2014, and ‘Open Court’ takes a look at what it takes to pull off a tournament like the ATP World Tour Finals.

 

>

cnn.com/tennis/

>

facebook.com/cnnopencourt

>

@cnnopencourt

>

@TheRealPatCash

 >

CNNGo

>
‘CNN Go’ explores Atlanta (Credit: Getty Images)>
‘CNN Go’ explores Atlanta (Credit: Getty Images)
 > >

Wednesday 12 November at 1030 GMT/1130 CET and 1730 GMT/1830 CET

>

Saturday 15 November at 0630 GMT/0730 CET and 1930 GMT/ 2030 CET

>

Sunday 16 November 1330 GMT/ 1430 CET

>

Duration: 30 minutes

This month ‘CNNGo’ visits Atlanta, Georgia, USA, the “crown jewel of the South.”

The programme dives into the former Olympic city’s historical roots, outdoorsy atmosphere, and culinary scene.  Acclaimed chef and TV personality, Kevin Gillespie takes the show to one of his favourite restaurants, Gu’s Bistro, known for its authentic Szechuan cuisine.

‘CNNGo’ also gets out of the kitchen to explore Serenbe, a quaint neighborhood surrounded by nature trails and waterfalls.  Founder of Civil Bikes, Nedra Deadwyler, rides around Atlanta’s famed BeltLine, a former railway corridor, to show the programme the best places on two wheels plus there’s a tour around locations which were at the forefront of civil rights struggles.

The show also visits Noni’s Bar and Deli for some straight-up, Italian comfort food.  Environmental advocate and philanthropist, Laura Turner Seydel, shows ‘CNNGo’ some of the area’s freshest produce at Wheat Street Farmers Market, as well as the place for green and eco-friendly design, BEE.

 

cnn.com/cnngo

 

The Perfect City

>
The butterfly garden inside Changi Airport in Singapore (Credit: Getty Images)>
The butterfly garden inside Changi Airport in Singapore (Credit: Getty Images)
 > >

Friday 21 November at 1030 GMT/1130 CET and 1630 GMT/1730 CET

>

Saturday 22 November at 1430 GMT/ 1530 CET and 2030 GMT/ 2130 CET

>

Sunday 23 November at 0430 GMT/ 0530 CET

>

Monday 24 November at 0930 GMT/ 1030 CET

>

Tuesday 25 November at 1030 GMT/ 1130 CET and 1730 GMT/ 1830 CET

>

Duration: 30 minutes

‘The Perfect City’ is a new series on CNN, a virtual landscape showcasing the very best examples of urban innovation from around the world.

In the first episode, dedicated to transportation, CNN takes a look at three locations which all contain elements that make them contenders for ‘The Perfect City’.

The programme begins in Changi Airport in Singapore, often rated the best in the world, which provides seamless take-off and landing but also boasts a rooftop swimming pool and movie theaters.

In Bogota, Colombia, the show takes a look at the city’s plans to revamp its legendary bus system.  Known for revolutionising high-speed bus travel, Bogota is expanding bus travel, focusing on clean energy and pushing a cycling culture.

In Copenhagen, Denmark cycling is not just a culture, it’s a way of life. ‘The Perfect City’ explores a new cycle skyway, checks out a modern cargo bike company, and gets an inside look at how Copenhagen keeps topping itself when it comes to cycling.

 

African Start-Up

>
‘African Start-Up’ meets entrepreneurs across the continent, including Matthew Rugumba, who started his own clothing line in Rwanda>
‘African Start-Up’ meets entrepreneurs across the continent, including Matthew Rugumba, who started his own clothing line in Rwanda

 

>

Friday 14 November at 1030 GMT/ 1130 CET and 1630 GMT/ 1730 CET

>

Saturday 15 November at 1430 GMT/ 1530 CET and 2030 GMT/ 2130 CET

>

Sunday 15 November at 0430 GMT/ 0530 CET

>

Monday 17 November at 0930 GMT/ 1030 CET

>

Tuesday 18 November at 1030 GMT/ 1130 CET and 1730 GMT/ 1830 CET

>

Duration: 30 minutes

‘African Start-Up’ follows entrepreneurs in various countries across the continent to see how they are working to make their dreams become reality.

In this special 30 minute programme, ‘African Start-Up’ meets:

 

  • Stephen Sembya, who started his own cocoa manufacturing company Pink Food Industries in Uganda.
  • Kelvin Macharia Curia, creator of his own his car tracking security company, Sunrise Tracking in Kenya.
  • Matthew Rugumba(pictured), House of Tavo clothing brand owner in Rwanda.
  • The online learning company Funda in South Africa.
  • Sustainable shoemakers at Pamoja Centre in Uganda.
  • Charles Muchene, creator of motorcycle apparel that lights up when riders are on their bikes.

 

>

cnn.com/african-start-up

>@cnnafricanstart

>

#africanstartup

Source : http://cnnpressroom.blogs.cnn.com/2014/10/24/preview-cnn-international-programme-information-weeks-46-47-2/

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 46 & 47
Y Combinator launching program for more mature startups
The Daily 202: Alabama’s desire not to be embarrassed may be the best thing going for Doug Jones
Largest-ever tobacco study finds 'urgent need' for policy change
Big Island police release photo of forgery suspect
Richmond Raceway
PGA Tour Confidential: Our U.S. Open predictions
Autism Awareness Day: The fans who find football matches overwhelming
Detained Americans Fast Facts
Kids for sale: 'My mom was tricked'